My Review of: Don’t Let Me Go by Susan Lewis

Don’t Let Me Go by Susan Lewis
Publisher: Ballantine Books, Random House Publishing Group
Genre: Contemporary
Length: 544 pages


A NetGalley, ARC Review

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook

Summary :

In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller No Child of Mine, author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together.
Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she’s landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte’s birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte’s life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart.

But the horrors of the past—both recent and long buried—are never far from Charlotte’s mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte’s strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart.

Deb’s Review :

Don’t Let Me Go, is a book full of heart, which has a dark side that no parent wishes to see. I have to admit the takeoff was a little shaky, but after chapter three I was clearly hooked and intrigued. Susan Lewis gave us a follow up to the first book “No Child of Mine”. I am excited, that this second book has a chance to be a huge hit. Many say that Don’t Let Me Go could be read as a standalone. Even though I am agreeing to part of that, I think you need to read the first book to get the complexities of the characters and of Ms. Lewis writing style.

Charlotte is a character that pulls you in and refuses to release you until you get her whole story. I was completely shocked as her and Chloe’s nightmare unfolds. After being caught in the courtroom drama I can feel Charlotte’s passion to have them all see what she did is and was for Chloe and nothing else.

Anthony is charming and insightful. I think I would have liked a bit more on his character, but what he adds is brilliant.

Chloe stole my heart as I am sure everyone else’s as well. Her ordeal about ripped me apart. Even writing this review I cannot keep from letting my emotions get the best of me.

Secondary characters were an interesting lot that added to the plot but I have to say I have issues with Katie and Wendy, sweet lord those two gave me fits. ( read the book to find out) the others just added to the richness of the story and helped get a better knowledge to what their role were and their relationship with Charlotte and Chloe were.

The plot picks up from the first book but has some of its own elements to make it a strong emotional read. (Tissue warning) but I think I need to ask Ms. Lewis is there going to be another book in this series? I feel that their story Charlotte’s and Chloe’s was left unfinished. I would love to see a happier time.

I have a quote from Charlotte to Chloe I would like to share.

“All I can hope, is that you forget me, because that will be the easiest thing for you to do my darling-but I know I’ll never, ever forget you.

I would like to say a special thank you to Ms. Susan Lewis for giving us such an amazing book and series. These books and the characters will stay with me forever.

Rated 5 Stilettos and a Recommended Read by Deb!

5redstilettos

recommendedreadbutton

1 Comment

Filed under 5 Stilettos, Contempoary Romance, Random House, Recommended Read, Reviews

One response to “My Review of: Don’t Let Me Go by Susan Lewis

  1. Gosh I hadn’t realised this was really a companion novel, thanks for the warning! 🙂 Glad you very much enjoyed this one despite the costly tissue usage reading it entailed.

Leave a Reply

