My Review of : Shallow Pond by Alissa Grosso

Shallow Pond by Alissa Grosso
Publisher: Flux Books
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery
Length: 336 pages

A Netgalley ARC review

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook

Summary :

Sisters uncover an unbelievable family secret

Barbara “Babie” Bunting is constantly mistaken for her sisters, but she’s determined not to end up like her family. She doesn’t plan to stick around Shallow Pond after graduation, and she certainly won’t be ruined by a broken heart. That is, until fellow orphan Zach Faraday walks into the picture, and Babie can’t deny their chemistry.

When her oldest sister, Annie, comes down with a mysterious illness—initially dismissed as “love sickness”—Babie and Zach start investigating what exactly killed the girls’ mother and why their late father became so consumed by grief. What they find changes everything.

Deb’s Review :

To say this was an unusual read is an understatement. Shallow Pond, is an odd look into reproduction and the crazy things we all would do for love.

Barbara Bunting I thought was going to be just a normal love interest type of character…boy was I wrong. She turns out to be for me the big draw to Shallow Pond. Barbara realizes that there is something not quite right in the Bunting House she grew up in.

Zach Farlay is a true boy wonder the cute, sweet the new guy in school. I have to admit it took me awhile to get into his character, he was slow building. His character was hard for me to grasp, when he was in they can’t live without me mantra.

Their story is a different love story. One that makes you wonder if sometimes if it is possible to go too far for love.

As for the secondary characters there were a few, but I have to say the Bunting girls were the main draw of this book. Annie and Grace were just as involved as Barbie was. Their bond as sister and the mystery holds. There was so many twist and turns, some O.M.G moments I found myself going back a few pages to reread what I have discovered. This was a brilliant insight that Ms. Grossoachieved, the whole suspense vibe.

Shallow Pond by Alissa Grosso was an interesting read with a plot that flow smoothly even with all the twists within the pages. I have to say if you have a 14 to something young adult, I would rate this as a PG book. I can honestly say that the rating of this book was not an issue for me. I was more interested in seeing how, Ms. Grosso planned on finishing out the Bunting sisters. Even with a few flaws in editing, I still enjoyed Shallow Pond that I would recommend it to everyone.

Rated 4 Stilettos by Deb!

4redstilettos

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stilettos, Reviews, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

